Great potential as a Goalkeeper but wants to be a Gymnast!

My eldest daughter from and early age has always had an interest in football, which she has now been playing for the last 6 years. She started out as a pacey right midfielder, with an ability to put in decent crosses to her team. However, as the newest member of the team and due to needing to rest regularly because of bring so pacey, she only ever part of the matches. So when the teams Goalkeeper left, she we regularly agree to help out in Goal… and she did well… So well that eventually she now plays there full-time.

So, to support my daughter, I took her to various Goalkeeper training centres to help her improve… which she did. It also got me involved more and after earning my Goalkeeper coaching badge, got involved at the Worcester Goalkeeper Academy to not only develop student Goalkeepers (including my daughter), but also to work with other, more experienced coaches to develop me as a coach. Helping me become a better coach, who can provide real benefit to aspiring Goalkeepers of all ages.

I have definitely improved as a coach and am starting to see the benefits or indeed hear about them from their club managers/coaches. This has given me an immense sense of achievement and confidence boost. However I am not getting carried away, as I know I have more to do… More to develop.

One Goalkeeper at the Academy we have all helped develop is my youngest daughter. She only originally went as she wanted to join in and have fun. Besides if she didn’t want to go I would have probably been stood on the sidelines with her watching my eldest be trained by the other coaches. So, with her also involved, means I can too and use my badge her, not just at my eldest’s football club…

When my youngest daughter started she would often need a lot of 1 to 1 coaching time as she had no experience and needed much help on the basic technique (as we do with all Goalkeepers who need help on the basics). However, last week she really impressed the Lead coaches at the Academy, who decided she was now ready to be pushed further, putting her into a more experienced group… A group that this week she again impressed in, with some seeing massive potential in her.

As I said, my youngest is there for fun, she is a complete opposite of my eldest daughter, preferring to dress in the frilly girly stuff, rather than like my eldest, in sporty gear… So with her impressing regularly now, when asked if she wanted me to find her a club and become a Goalkeeper full-time, she responded “no, I want to be a Gymnast”. Which our Senior Goalkeeper responded with “you shouldn’t, as you were fantastic tonight… You’d make a fantastic Goalkeeper”. Which was great praise, as this coach has worked at the highest levels in football!

I was immensely proud of how she has developed and of the praise she is now getting. Yes, I could be frustrated that even though she has bags of potential, she decides against taking up Goalkeeping full-time. However, that is her choice and like my eldest I would never push them, as they do need to find their own way… Besides the main thing is, that she’s having fun! While she is happy (at the Academy), so am I, not only because she’s my daughter, but also as it means I can get on and coach there! It’s a win-win… You never know one day she may change her mind! 😉

Posted on Sun 11 November 2012, in Goalkeeper Coaching, Goalkeeper Development, Worcester Goalkeeper Academy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

