Watching and learning from other Goalkeeper coaches to aid my development

After 6 weeks as the lead coach for two different groups of Goalkeepers, it was time for me to be the helper and work with another coach to further my development…

What an experience though for my development, as I was put with not just one coach, but two, from the Aston Villa and Leicester City Goalkeeper Academies… Two of the best.

My biggest strength is that I am great at working with the young and least experienced Goalkeepers. Working on the basics and fine tuning their basic skills to take them to the next level.

Over time, I too have developed, and I can now create sessions at a higher level, although due to lack of experience there is only so much I can do. And at the highest level, even though I could probably produce a good practice session, I would tend to struggle for a second session or if it was deduced that they needed pushing further…

I watched exercises similar to those that I am now doing but at a higher level, from warm up, technique honing and then to simulated game exercises… Absolutely brilliant to be involved with!

That is why working at the Worcester Goalkeeper Academy is not just great for aspiring Goalkeepers, but also aspiring Goalkeeper coaches. Working with other more experienced coaches has helped me see and learn how they work with student keepers, keeping them engaged, pushing their learning/understanding and improving them.

I have a few more weeks with these coaches, so I am looking forward to learning more and then I shall look forward to leading again with a new understanding and start putting what I have learnt into practice with other student Goalkeepers to develop them even further… As to me there is nothing more rewarding than seeing a player develop through your teachings as coach! 😉

Posted on Wed 14 November 2012, in Goalkeeper Coaching, Goalkeeper Development, Worcester Goalkeeper Academy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

